top of page

Let's Play: Life is Strange Episode 1

Chrysalis, 3D Scanning, and Memorabilia

Last semester, I had a chance to play the first episode of Life is Strange. Although I've referenced the game in almost all my projects through the entirety of my university experience, I actually hadn't played it at all ever. But I have now!


For some reason, I've had so many issues getting the whole recording of this playthrough to upload to Premiere Pro and that's why I hadn't posted this blog until now. My Twitch streamer video game YouTuber career is not looking good, is it?


The main thing I like about Life is Strange is the sheer amount of detail within the environment, I mean the world-building is just insanely thorough. While it takes on a more realistic style that calls for this amount of interactivity in the environment outside of main gameplay, it is still something I would love to incorporate into our game. I think the biographical nature of the project would really benefit from opportunities to include details within the map that can tell this character's story without having to conform to the linearity of the gameplay. Other than that, I really enjoyed the soundtrack. Music seems to be important to the main characters of Life is Strange and the way the the soundtrack seems to just be Max's playlist or Chloe's transforms the game's world into one you can clearly see from their perspectives; music taste being a glimpse into a person's psyche, kind of thing. It also seems like the easiest way to incorporate music that isn't just instrumentals composed specifically to be the background music to more complex gameplay. Something to consider.






3D Scanning & Personal Items

In the first weeks of last semester's Major Project Research module, our group tested out an app Joud found called Kiri. While it was fun to see a quick and easy way to turn real life objects into 3D virtual objects with just our own phones, the scans were rough and not entirely accurate. However, Julie did suggest this incorporation of rough real-life textures mixed with those constructed in 3D modelling software could be a really interesting way to present our ideas -- e.g. symbolic of real and imaginary. We scanned things like my Polaroid camera and the stuffed rabbit I've had since I was a child. We also scanned me -- for funsies :)




Photo collage walls in bedrooms





0 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page